Trast73 stays cool and wins the third MotoGP eSport crown!

The MotoGP eSport championship returned with a bang at the Valencia GP and in a nerve-wracking final, Italian superstar Trast73 clinched overall victory in the 2021 Global Series with two faultless drives.

The Ricardo Tormo Circuit in Valencia, Spain hosted a top-class final round – the first on-site event of the MotoGP eSport championship since 2019 – with two GP riders. The promise of a series of glittering prizes and two dramatic races kept the spectators full from start to finish!

Presenter Immy Barclay moderated the event with Jack Appleyard and Jack Gorst from MotoGP, who acted as commentators that evening. Multiple MotoGP race winner Jack Miller (Ducati Lenovo Team) also made an appearance, joining the commentators as well as the Moto2 superstar and Tissot ambassador Thomas Lüthi (Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team) joined the show. A number of other Grand Prix drivers and team members were also in attendance to catch the action live.

and Trast73, the winner of the MotoGP eSport championships in 2017 and 2018, won the main prize of the evening – a brand new BMW X4 M40i – an achievement after an unbelievable success which complements Yamaha’s MotoGP crown won with Fabio Quartararo.

Everything was at stake before the final races began. After three dramatic rounds, only 20 points covered four players – Repsol Hondas Adrian_26, Yamaha’s Monster Energy trust73, Ducati Lenovo eSport Team Rider AndrewZh and new name PieroRicciuti 55, representing the LCR Honda Castrol eSports Team – enters the finals. The stakes were increased, with double points being offered for the last two races.

The first, held at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin Texas, got off to an incredible start. Pole-sitter Trast73 took the lead early, but one corner crashed for Pramac Ducatis Riccardo Bottaro 64 defeated title contenders Adriaan_26 and AndrewZh and relegated them to tenth and eleventh place respectively. At the front, Trast73 delivered a run of perfection and finished 2.6 seconds ahead of PieroRicciuti55. Adriaan_26 fought for an excellent third place after winning the last podium from Jack Hammer 4658 in the last lap.

That result meant that Trast73 had a manageable 11 point lead ahead of the final race. But before the second race began, Tissot Ambassador Thomas Lüthi presented AndrewZh with the award for the best qualifier of the Global Series, a Tissot T-Race MotoGP Chronograph watch. Plus, Jack Miller joined the two Jacks for commenting on the season finale!

And AndrewZh made fantastic use of his pole position to quickly take the lead from PieroRicciuti55 and Trast73. The order stayed that way until the checkered flag, with RiccardoBottaro64 ruining the attempts by Williams_Cristian and Adriaan_26 to get to the top. That was enough for Trast73 to win PieroRicciuti55’s crown with 15 points!

2021 was another vintage year for the MotoGP esports championship with a championship fight that went to the top. The series is set to return bigger and better next year, so join us again in 2022 – and congratulations to Trast73!

Check out the overall ranking here!