MotoGP, Jack Miller in the top ten recent winners

The victory of ‘Jackass’ in the rain in Assen surprised MotoGP, which had not seen a new face at the top of the podium for a long time.

With his first win, Miller is now in the spotlight, as you can see from the new statistics on him:

– Jack Miller is the fifth youngest rider to win the premier class in the MotoGP era, after: Marc Marquez, Dani Pedrosa, Jorge Lorenzo and Casey Stoner.

– He is the 12th Australian rider to win in the premier class, alongside Mick Doohan, Casey Stoner, Wayne Gardner, Daryl Beattie, Jack Findlay, Garry McCoy, Jack Ahearn, Troy Bayliss, Ken Kavanagh, Kevin Magee and Chris Vermeulen.

– It’s the first MotoGP win by an Australian rider since Casey Stoner won Phillip Island in 2012.

– Miller is the first rider to take his first MotoGP win since Marc Marquez in Austin in 2013. This series of 59 races without a first-time winner is the
longest in the history of the premier class.

– This was the first win by an independent team driver since Toni Elias 2006 in Portugal.

– Miller becomes the first rider to win a MotoGP race after previously winning the Moto3 class.

– He is only the sixth rider to win a MotoGP race without having competed in the intermediate class of Grand Prix racing for at least a year.
Nicky Hayden, Ben Spies, Makoto Tamada, Troy Bayliss and Chris Vermeulen (of these drivers both Troy Bayliss and Makoto Tamada competed in the 250cc GP class, but only as wildcard drivers)