MotoGP, 2020 calendar draft: increased to 20 GPs

The MotoGP calendar for 2020 is still shrouded in a veil of mystery, but we can give you a preview of it, thanks to our colleagues and friends at Speedweek. If you’re in a hurry, race to the bottom of the page, and you’ll find all of next season’s Grand Prixs.

The biggest news is that there will be 20 races, the maximum limit set by the current contract between Dorna and the manufacturers. The extra Grand Prix is ​​in Finland, scheduled for July 12th, on the KymiRing, which recently hosted a first test session with test drivers.

The 2020 calendar also brings an unprecedented start with 4 GPs outside Europe. As tradition wants, it starts off with the night race in Losail (March 8th) followed by Thailand. The SBK will no longer make a stop in Buriram, and so the races was moved from October to March. After Asia, it’ll be America, with stops in Texas and Argentina.

Then, like this year, the races in the Old Continent will be starting with Jerez, followed Le Mans, Mugello (May 31st), and Barcelona. The Sachsenring will no longer be the last GP before the summer break, but it’ll take place in Germany in June, before Assen and the KymiRing.

Three weeks of vacation, then back to the track in August with Brno, the Red Bull Ring, and Silverstone. Like this year, Misano will be in mid-September (on the 14th), then off to Aragon at the beginning of October. Finally, the classic triplet in Japan-Australia-Malaysia, ending November 15th in Valencia.

An interesting fact: in the event of a withdrawal, the Portimao circuit will be a reserve track.


March 8th: Doha – Qatar
March 22nd: Buriram – Thailand
April 5th: Austin – USA
April 19th: Termas de Rio Hondo – Argentina
May 3rd: Jerez – Spain
May 17th: Le Mans – France
May 31st: Mugello – Italy
June 7th: Barcelona – Catalonia
June 21st: Sachsenring – Germany
June 28th: ​​Assen – Netherlands
July 12th: KymiRing – Finland
August 9th: Brno – Czech Republic
August 16th: Red Bull Ring – Austria
August 30th: Silverstone – Great Britain
September 14th: Misano – San Marino
October 4th: Motorland – Aragon
October 18th: Motegi – Japan
October 25th: Phillip Island – Australia
November 1st: Sepang – Malaysia
November 15th: Valencia – Valencian Community