Quartararo reinstated as practice pacesetter

Petronas SRT Yamaha rider Quartararo had fired in a 1m59.225s late on with a fresh soft rear tyre, smashing the existing Silverstone MotoGP lap record by more than seven tenths.

But he swiftly had his lap time disallowed due to a track limits infringement at Chapel, and an error at Brooklands on his final attempt meant he had been consigned to the 11th in the classification.

Marc Marquez’s 1m59.476s effort therefore stood as the afternoon benchmark at the checkered flag instead, the reigning champion having recovered from a low-side crash at Vale just over 10 minutes in the session.

But the stewards later reviewed track limits decision that had been made regarding laps by Quartararo, Rossi and Takaaki Nakagami and reinstated all three.

That meant Quartararo completed a clean sweep of Friday’s two practice sessions, ending up a quarter of a second clear of Marquez.

Maverick Vinales was another three tenths down in third, while Rossi moved up from 17th to fourth with his disallowed lap now able to be counted.

Cal Crutchlow and 2017 Silverstone winner Andrea Dovizioso completed the revised top six, while Nakagami moved up to 11th.

Revised practice two times

position riders team time gap laps
1 Fabio Quartararo Petronas Yamaha 1m59.225s 16
2 Marc Marquez Honda 1m59.476s 0.251s 16
3 Maverick Vinales Yamaha 1m59.765s 0.540s 17
4 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1m59.937s 0.712s 17
5 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1m59.993s 0.768s 16
6 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 2m00.110s 0.885s 16
7 Franco Morbidelli Petronas Yamaha 2m00.183s 0.958s 18
8th Miguel Oliveira Tech3 KTM 2m00.360s 1.135s 16
9 Jack Miller Pramac Ducati 2m00.392s 1.167s 14
10 Danilo Petrucci Ducati 2m00.428s 1.203s 14
11 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda 2m00.492s 1.267s 16
12 Alex Espargaro Aprilia 2m00.497s 1.272s 11
13 Pol Espargaro KTM 2m00.591s 1.366s 16
14 Johann Zarco KTM 2m00.664s 1,439s 16
15 Alex Rins Suzuki 2m00.666s 1.441s 18
16 Francesco Bagnaia Pramac Ducati 2m00.788s 1.563s 16
17 Andrea Iannone Aprilia 2m00.907s 1.682s 15
18 Sylvain Guintoli Suzuki 2m02.240s 3.015s 16
19 Hafizh Syahrin Tech3 KTM 2m02.417s 3.192s 16
20 Tito Rabat Avintia Ducati 2m02.473s 3.248s 18
21 George Lorenzo Honda 2m02.907s 3,682s 15
22 Karel Abraham Avintia Ducati 2m02.993s 3,768s 14