Preliminary MotoGP participant list 2022, Aramco is missing from VR46 | MotoGP

The preliminary entry list for the MotoGP World Championship 2022 has been published.

While the identities of all 24 riders, teams and bikes were already known, the list is notable for the absence of Aramco as the title sponsor of the new VR46 Ducati team, underscoring rumors that the previously announced deal may not go through.

“In 2022 the VR46 team will debut in the MotoGP class together with Tanal Entertainment Sport & Media with Saudi Aramco as the new main sponsor for the period 2022-2026,” said a press release from Tanal Entertainment Sport & Media in April of the year.

“As you know we have reached the agreement with Aramco and things are going very slowly,” said team manager Pablo Nieto recently. “There are some delays but we are on our way and have to keep working.”

VR46 isn’t the only independent team missing a previously announced title sponsor as Flex-Box was supposed to support the new Gresini Ducati project but isn’t currently present.

Related articles

Otherwise, the list confirms that the new world champion Fabio Quartararo will keep the # 20, plus the chosen starting numbers of the rookies: Remy Gardner (87), Raul Fernandez (25), Fabio di Giannantonio (49), Marco Bezzecchi (72) and Darryn Binder (40).

The satellite bike spec is not on the official entry lists, but the independent teams with both riders on the latest 2022 machines will be: Pramac Ducati (Johann Zarco, Jorge Martin), Tech3 KTM (Remy Gardner, Raul Fernandez) and LCR Honda (Alex Marquez, Takaaki Nakagami).

Related articles

VR46 Ducati will then have 2022 bikes for Luca Marini and 2021 Spec for Marco Bezzecchi. Likewise, the new RNF Yamaha team will have Andrea Dovizioso on M1s of the 2022 specification and Darryn Binder of the 2021 specification.

Both Gresini drivers, Enea Bastianini and Fabio di Giannantonio, should get Desmosedicis in 2021.

The line-up for 2022 will be on the track this Thursday and Friday for the Jerez Test, the last official MotoGP track promotion of the year …

Preliminary MotoGP 2022 Entry list
# 4 Andrea Dovizioso ITA With U Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team (Yamaha)
# 5 Johann Zarco FROM Pramac races (Ducati)
# 10 Luca Marini ITA VR46 racing team (Ducati)
# 12 Maverick Vinales SPA Aprilia Racing (Aprilia)
# 20 Fabio Quartararo FROM Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP (Yamaha)
# 21 Franco Morbidelli ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP (Yamaha)
# 23 Enea Bastianini ITA Gresini Racing MotoGP (Ducati)
# 25 Raul Fernandez SPA Tech3 KTM factory race (KTM)
# 30 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda Idemitsu (Honda)
# 33 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM factory race (KTM)
# 36 Joan me SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar (Suzuki)
# 40 Darryn Binder RSA With U Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team (Yamaha)
# 41 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Racing (Aprilia)
# 42 Alex kidneys SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar (Suzuki)
# 43 Jack Miller OUT Ducati Lenovo team (Ducati)
# 44 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda team (Honda)
# 49 Fabio Digiannantonio ITA Gresini Racing MotoGP (Ducati)
# 63 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Lenovo team (Ducati)
# 72 Marco Bezzecchi ITA VR46 racing team (Ducati)
# 73 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda Castrol (Honda)
# 87 Remy Gardner OUT Tech3 KTM factory race (KTM)
# 88 Miguel Oliveira PER Red Bull KTM factory race (KTM)
# 89 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac races (Ducati)
# 93 Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda team (Honda)