MotoGP, Grand Prix Commission: Wildcards return in all classes in 2021

The Grand Prix Commission, composed of Carmelo Ezpeleta (Dorna, Chairman), Paul Duparc (FIM), Herve Poncharal (IRTA), Davide Brivio (Suzuki), Luigi Dall’Igna (Ducati), Romano Albesiano (Aprilia), Mike Leitner (KTM), Takeo Yokoyama (Honda) and Lin Jarvis (Yamaha), in the presence of Jorge Viegas (FIM President), Carlos Ezpeleta (Dorna), Mike Trimby (IRTA, Meeting Secretary), Mike Webb (Race Director), Corrado Cecchinelli (Technology Director), Jean-Paul Gombeaud (FIM Sporting Director) and Franck Vayssié (FIM CCR Director), during a meeting held in Portimao on November 20, 2020, took the following decisions regarding the 2021 Sporting Regulations:

YELLOW FLAGS – Riders who see a yellow flag must slow down to protect fallen riders and marshals present. The commission has incorporated into the regulations the current policy already being implemented by race officials. Drivers who pass a yellow flag in a practice session will have their time for that lap annulled.

ACCELERATION IN THE PIT STREET The penalty for speeding in the pit lane during a race has been changed to a 2x long lap penalty. The previous penalty was a drive-through. (The FIM stewards reserve the right to impose further or different penalties, for example for excessive speed).

DEPOSITS FOR PROTESTS AND APPEALS – The regulations have been changed to formalize the current practice. Any person or entity filing a protest or appeal will always have their deposit returned if the protest or appeal is successful. (Note: it is also common practice for forfeited deposits to go to a FIM managed fund which may be put to good use).

WILD CARD ENTRANCE – Due to Covid-19 restrictions, wildcard entries have been canceled in 2020. For 2021, wildcards are allowed in all classes, with a maximum of two per class at each event. However, as previously for Moto2 wildcards, Moto3 wildcard entries will only be considered if operated by an existing Moto3 team.

BEST GRAND PRIX 2020 – The Commission has decided that due to the disruption to the calendar caused by the pandemic, no event will be declared the Best Grand Prix. Instead, all ten circuits that hosted events in 2020 will be presented with a special trophy in recognition of the tremendous effort they have made to support the Championship during difficult times.