Bagnaia’s monster lap stops Quartararo’s Jerez MotoGP pole run

Ducati MotoGP rider Francesco Bagnaia snapped Fabio Quartararo’s Jerez pole streak in qualifying for the 2022 Spanish Grand Prix.

Quartararo had been on pole in all four of his previous premier-class appearances at Jerez, but was powerless to resist Bagnaia’s 1m36.170s, which now stands as the new MotoGP lap record at the venue.

Having combined to lock out the top two spots in both third and fourth practice, 2021 title rivals Quartararo and Bagnaia established themselves as class of the field right away in Q2, lapping 0.073s apart and around four tenths quicker than anyone else.

Yet Bagnaia’s very first flyer after a mid-session pitstop elevated him to over six tenths clear of Quartararo, and the Frenchman could only whittle down the gap to 0.453s.

It was still plenty good enough for him to finish second, however, with Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro in third another three tenths down on Quartararo.

Jack Miller tucked in behind Ducati team-mate Bagnaia on the Italian’s record lap to secure fourth on the grid, while Marc Marquez followed first Bagnaia and then Quartararo to bag fifth place.

The two Ducati riders who advanced from Q1, Johann Zarco (Pramac) and Marco Bezzecchi (VR46), wound up sixth and eighth, split by LCR Honda’s Takaaki Nakagami. Bezzecchi had a minor crash in Q1 shortly after setting his best time.

Rookie @Marco12_B crashes moments after going to the top! 💥

The Italian holds just 3 thousandths over Pol! ⚔️#SpanishGP 🇪🇸

— MotoGP™🏁 (@MotoGP) April 30, 2022

For Joan Mir (Suzuki), Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati) and Enea Bastianini (Gresini Ducati), the crashes came in Q2, and the trio completed the top 11 – but all ended up ahead of Aprilia’s Maverick Vinales, the last of those in Q2.

Pole position challenge over for @JoanMirOfficial and @Bestia23! 🛑

They’ve both gone down late in the session! 💥#SpanishGP 🇪🇸

— MotoGP™🏁 (@MotoGP) April 30, 2022

Pol Espargaro came up 0.003s short of making the pole shoot-out, the Honda man outpaced by Bezzecchi by the smallest of margins before being relegated down to third in Q1 by a last-gasp Zarco improvement.

Espargaro will share row five with Spanish compatriot Alex Rins (Suzuki), who is currently level on points with Quartararo at the top of the standings, and the lead KTM of Brad Binder, who had a quicker laptime deleted for track limits but would’ve stayed in the same position anyway.

Quartararo’s team-mate Franco Morbidelli was only 16th, followed by a pair of rookies split by 0.007s – Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Ducati) and Remy Gardner (Tech3 KTM), with Gardner crashing at Turn 1 late in the session.

Miguel Oliveira was third and last of the participating KTMs, with Tech3’s Raul Fernandez missing out through injury. Oliveira had his Q1 compromised by a mechanical failure denying him one of two planned runs, and will start 21st, one place ahead of LCR Honda’s Alex Marquez.

qualifying results

position Surname team bike

group 1

group 2

1 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo team Ducati 1m36.17s
2 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1m36.623s
3 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1m36.933s
4 Jack Miller Ducati Lenovo team Ducati 1m37.049s
5 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda 1m37.145s
6 Johann Zarco Pramac Racing Ducati 1m37.003s 1m37.22s
7 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1m37.254s
8th Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati 1m37.135s 1m37.285s
9 Joan Mir Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1m37.33s
10 Jorge Martin Pramac Racing Ducati 1m37.526s
11 Enea Bastianini Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 1m37.618s
12 Maverick Vinales Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1m37.675s
13 Pol Espargaro Repsol Honda Team Honda 1m37.138s
14 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1m37.401s
15 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1m37.544s
16 Franco Morbidelli Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1m37.668s
17 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 1m37.882s
18 Remy Gardner Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM 1m37.889s
19 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati 1m37.91s
20 Stefan Bradl Repsol Honda Team Honda 1m37.937s
21 Miguel Oliveira Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1m37.958s
22 Alex Marquez LCR Honda Castrol Honda 1m38.014s
23 Andrea Dovizioso WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 1m38.064s
24 Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1m38.244s
25 Darryn Binder WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha 1m38.405s

Thank you for your feedback!

What did you think of this story?