All you need to know about third MotoGP practice at Jerez

Ducati MotoGP rider Francesco Bagnaia led points leader Fabio Quartararo by 0.006s in the third premier-class practice session of the Spanish Grand Prix weekend at Jerez.

key moments:

> Bagnaia back on form

> Marquez arrests his slump

> Rins to Q1

> Three Honda crashes

Bagnaia set his 1m36.782s with 15 minutes to go, and his benchmark withstood a late barrage from Quartararo, whose post-checked flag bid to deposit the Italian came up just short.

The two Hondas of LCR rider Takaaki Nakagami and factory man Marc Marquez completed the top four around a tenth behind the duo, albeit Marquez had looked well off the pace for much of the session before capitalizing on a tow from the Ducati of Jack Miller to book his Q2 spot.

Fair game 🤝#SpanishGP 🇪🇸

— MotoGP™🏁 (@MotoGP) April 30, 2022

The two Aprilias of Maverick Vinales and Aleix Espargaro also advanced to Q2 in fifth and seventh respectively, with Gresini Ducati’s Enea Bastianini between them.

The final three automatic Q2 spots went to Joan Mir (Suzuki), Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati) and Miller, with VR46 Ducati rookie Marco Bezzecchi missing out by a tenth.

Suzuki’s Alex Rins, level on points the top of the standings with Quartararo, will have to face Q1, as will Quartararo’s works team-mate Franco Morbidelli – despite Rins and Morbidelli being just half a second off the Frenchman’s pace.

The entire KTM contingent – down to three riders this weekend due to Raul Fernandez’s lingering hand injury – will also contest Q1.

There were three crashes during the session, and all three came courtesy of Honda riders in the final minutes.

Wildcard Stefan Bradl, LCR rider Alex Marquez – who had one of his bikes expire on track early in the session – and works rider Pol Espargaro fell late on, the latter having been on a lap that may have taken him directly into Q2.

Practice 3 results

position Surname team bike Gap Next gap leader best time
1 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo team Ducati 1m36.782s
2 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.006s +0.006s 1m36.788s
3 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +0.111s +0.117s 1m36.899s
4 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.026s +0.143s 1m36.925s
5 Maverick Vinales Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.05s +0.193s 1m36.975s
6 Enea Bastianini Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +0.001s +0.194s 1m36.976s
7 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.083s +0.277s 1m37.059s
8th Joan Mir Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.001s +0.278s 1m37.06s
9 Jorge Martin Pramac Racing Ducati +0.014s +0.292s 1m37.074s
10 Jack Miller Ducati Lenovo team Ducati +0.05s +0.342s 1m37.124s
11 Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0.077s +0.419s 1m37.201s
12 Johann Zarco Pramac Racing Ducati +0.029s +0.448s 1m37.23s
13 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.063s +0.511s 1m37.293s
14 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.021s +0.532s 1m37.314s
15 Franco Morbidelli Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.001s +0.533s 1m37.315s
16 Miguel Oliveira Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.179s +0.712s 1m37.494s
17 Pol Espargaro Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.136s +0.848s 1m37.63s
18 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0.012s +0.86s 1m37.642s
19 Andrea Dovizioso WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha +0.089s +0.949s 1m37.731s
20 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +0.149s +1.098s 1m37.88s
21 Stefan Bradl Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.133s +1.231s 1m38.013s
22 Remy Gardner Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.082s +1.313s 1m38.095s
23 Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.112s +1.425s 1m38.207s
24 Alex Marquez LCR Honda Castrol Honda +0.03s +1.455s 1m38.237s
25 Darryn Binder WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha +0.001s +1.456s 1m38.238s

Thank you for your feedback!

What did you think of this story?